Orchids

There are orchids blooming on the back porch, and there is one threatening to in the back yard. It’s an apricot-colored ‘Apricot d’Or’ Cattleya, and I’ve been waiting for it to bloom ever since buying it a few years ago at an orchid show in Orlando. There are always beautiful specimen plants blooming at these shows, and so you hand over your $40 and bring home your own non-blooming plant, and then wait years for something to happen. And you try everything: fertilizer… water… shade… some sun… no sun… no shade. Should I move it to a different part of the yard? the porch? the house? Should I leave it in a window? Should I rinse it daily in the shower? Should I leave it in the street for a truck to run over?

Here is a picture of an orchid blooming on the back porch. I have no idea what kind of Dendrobium it is because the lady who gave it to me doesn’t keep the original tags. To an anal-retentive obsessive-compulsive like me, who keeps lists, this sort of behavior is unconscionable!

orchid.jpg

2 responses

  1. “And you try everything: fertilizer… water… shade… some sun… no sun… no shade. Should I move it to a different part of the yard? the porch? the house?

    IT SOUNDS LIKE THE PLANT FROM LITTLE SHOP OF HORRORS.

Leave a Reply

